NOTICE - Dallas Area Classic Chevys Message Board Will Soon Be Deactivated Forum Index NOTICE - Dallas Area Classic Chevys Message Board Will Soon Be Deactivated
The function of this message board has become unstable with no way to update and will be disabled soon.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

replacing air compressor - any tips?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    NOTICE - Dallas Area Classic Chevys Message Board Will Soon Be Deactivated Forum Index -> Technical Help
View previous topic :: View next topic  
David Graves
Site Admin

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:22 pm    Post subject: replacing air compressor - any tips? Reply with quote

my 25 year old 20 gal Craftsman compressor finally had a rust leak in the bottom of the tank, need to replace - tank no longer available .. been a while since I studied air compressors, any tips?
'56 Corvette
'67 Camaro RS
'69 Blown 427 nostalgia front engine dragster
'17 Indian Chief Vintage
Marv Cowden
Bel Air

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On your next compressor be sure to put a moisture trap between the compressor and the tank. Draining the trap perdiocally will greatly extend your tanks life.
wheezer
Bel Air

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bigger is better! For car work the 240 volt varients are recommended with a large tank. Craftsman has good products. For light sand blasting even 2 hp is too small.
Larry Epperson
Bel Air

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:38 pm    Post subject: Air Compressor Reply with quote